Cover Three Men of Letters

Kathryn Puffett and Barbara Schingnitz: Three Men of Letters. Arnold Schönberg, Alban Berg and Anton Webern, 1906-1921, Wien: Hollitzer Verlag, 2020, 532 pages, 17 x 24 cm, English, Hardcover

ISBN 978-3-99012-776-6 (hbk) € 90,00
ISBN 978-3-99012-777-3 (pdf) € 89,99

Download Cover
Kathryn Puffett , Barbara Schingnitz

Three Men of Letters

Arnold Schönberg, Alban Berg and Anton Webern, 1906-1921

This book examines the relationship of three very different men who are usually seen as the most important composers of the so-called Second Viennese School – Arnold Schönberg, Alban Berg and Anton Webern – in the years 1906 to 1921 through a close reading of their correspondence with each other. To date only one of these correspondences, that of Schönberg and Berg, has been published, so the other two sets of letters are not yet widely known. The largely differing personalities of these three men come out clearly in their letters to each other: Schönberg, the master who demands a great many things from his two pupils (long after they have ceased to be that); Berg, from whom he demands the most; and Webern, his most pious devotee. The book covers the period linking the first correspondence between master and pupils in 1906 and the dissolution of the Verein für musikalische Privataufführungen in 1921, the period when these men were most closely bound together.








The Letters


Arnold Schönberg


The Schönberg Aktion


Anton Webern


Webern and the Theatre


Alban Berg




An Unlikely Friendship


The War




Select Bibliography